I Am Making A Game In Unity3D

Richard Bailey
4 min readJul 31, 2023

Working On A 2D Casual Game

Image by Author. Not current game code but code I used while learning.

As the treatment I am doing is beginning to start working, I am slowly getting interested in things I haven’t done for a while.

One of those things is game development. I have had an interest in game development since I was a young child.

The first programming language I Learned was QBasic. That was done back on the Doss systems right around the time of Windows 95. From there I learned C++, and eventually, I found the RPG Maker series game engine and learned how to make games with that engine.

For a long while, due to the depression, I lost interest in game development as well as motivation. Over the years it would come back for a short time and I would start learning game development again. Unfortunately, the interest never lasted very long, and by the time it came back, I had forgotten everything I had learned.

Over the last few years, in that cycle of interest and disinterest, I’d begun using the game development engine called unity3D. They do have visual scripting but I’ve always preferred working with a programming language, so I began learning C#.

With the treatment being effective and the interest coming back I’ve decided to dive back into Unity 3D. I’m currently learning and creating a game.

--

--

Richard Bailey

Writing about mental health/illness and other various topics to provide valuable and useful information to readers.